The National Black MBA Association, Inc. (NBMBAA) St. Louis Chapter is one of 46 professional chapters throughout the United States and Canada. The NBMBAA-St. Louis Chapter has more than 130 members with diverse professional backgrounds in the field of accounting, communications, finance, general management, human resources, information technology, marketing and telecommunications acquired from both public and private sector organizations.

Maria Flores, Jesse Swanigan, and Ruth Teague-Rice formed the chapter along with charter members John Bass, Alfred A. Brown Jr., Rose Neyland, Ken Rowey and Mark Sanford in 1984, and the chapter incorporated in the State of Missouri in 1988. The chapter is a recognized 501©3 business organization with a mission to assist in the professional, entrepreneurial, economic and intellectual development of its members, corporate partners and community-at-large.

For the last 30 years, the NBMBAA-St. Louis Chapter has been a part of the fabric in the St. Louis community and has played a pivotal role in the growth and development of business professionals through offered professional development programs, community outreach programs and signature events—hosting 20 Professional Career Fairs, 14 Golf Tournaments, 8 Black History Mixers, six Trivia Nights and five Entrepreneur Think Tanks. Over the years, these and other fundraising events have enabled the chapter to provide more than $300,000 in scholarships to local high school seniors bound for college as well as area, undergraduate and graduate students. Additionally, the chapter has, for more than 15-years, impacted the lives of students participating in its Leaders of Tomorrow program.

The NBMBAA-St. Louis Chapter has a long standing history of chapter presidents who [with the aid of each leadership team] have worked tirelessly to empower visionaries through a commitment to education, career, leadership, entrepreneurship and lifestyle.

Past and Current Chapter Presidents

Carrie Sanders - Present

Dana Townsend - (2017)

Sam Gradford (2015 - 2016)

Jacquie Vick (2011 – 2014)

Amber Simpson (2009-2010)

K. Kalimba Kindell (2007-2008)

Sam Gradford (2003-2006)

Dr. Kelvyn Moore (1999-2002)

Jerry Holliday (1997-1998)

Michelle Page (1995-1996)

James Pinkston (1993-1994)

*Ken Rowey (1990 – 1992)

Mark Sanford (1988-1989)

Jesse Swanigan (1986 – 1987)

Ruth Teague-Rice (1984-1985)





PO Box 5296St. Louis, MO 63115-0296

The National Black MBA Association leads in the creation of educational opportunities and economic growth for African Americans.


© 2019 National Black MBA Association, Inc Metro St. Louis. Site Dev: